International Workers’ Day: Farmworkers Demand Justice in Honduras

Date: 

Friday, May 1, 2020 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm

Location: 

Register here for the webinar, which will be held at 7:00pm CET / 1:00pm US Eastern / 11:00am Honduras / 10:00am US Pacific.

On May Day – International Workers’ Day – hear from farmworkers and trade unionists in Honduras who are fighting for justice on the farms of multinational corporation Fyffes, the number one supplier of melons to the U.S. market. Melon pickers are “essential workers” during the COVID-19 pandemic and yet the billion-dollar Fyffes corporation refuses to give them face masks and gloves, and has not implemented any social distancing on overcrowded company buses.

The webinar, hosted by the International Labor Rights Forum, will also highlight the long-term, ongoing human and labor rights violations on these plantations as revealed in the new report, Fyffes Farms Exposed: The Fight for Justice in the Honduran Melon Fields, by ILRF, Fair World Project, and the International Union of Food Workers (IUF) Latin America Regional Secretariat, with support from 3F International.