2020 Labor Rights Defenders Awards


Thursday, June 11, 2020 - 5:30pm to 8:00pm


Washington, D.C.

This year, the Labor Rights Defenders Awards will highlight the intersectionality of labor rights, environmental issues, and children’s rights. Our four honorees in 2020 are: 

  • Sharan Burrow, General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC), for her work connecting labor movements with environmental and women’s movements;
  • Lorretta Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer of the American Federation of Teachers, for her lifetime dedication and leadership to advancing the rights of educators and children in the U.S. and globally; 
  • The General Agricultural Workers Union of Ghana (GAWU) for their work to organize and advocate for cocoa farmers’ rights and livelihoods and for its advocacy to stop child labor in the cocoa sector; and
  • The Chicago Teachers’ Union as one of the leading campaigns bridging teachers’ rights and children’s rights within the U.S.-wide Red for Ed campaign.


Purchase Tickets

Sponsorship opportunities currently available